Call for Papers

 116th Annual ECA Convention

ECA2025


Submission Deadline: October 16, 2024, 11:59pm PST


Call for Submissions

116th Eastern Communication Association Annual Convention

“Contemporary Problems, Creative Solutions”

Hyatt Regency, Buffalo, NY

March 26-March 30, 2025

Submission Deadline: October 16, 2024, 11:59pm PST

Known as the “City of Good Neighbors” for its welcoming and supportive community, Buffalo will be the site for the 2025 annual convention of the Eastern Communication Association. For the first time in 23 years, ECA will be held in the great state of New York! Please join us at the Hyatt Regency Buffalo from March 26-30, 2025, for the 116th ECA annual convention.

The Hyatt Regency is conveniently located in the heart of downtown Buffalo within walking distance to the waterfront, KeyBank Center, Buffalo Naval Park, Buffalo RiverWorks, Canalside, and Shea’s Buffalo Theatre. The property offers several amenities for guests, including on-site dining, a fitness center, and a business center.

The 2025 convention theme is Contemporary Problems, Creative Solutions. In our ever-changing world, contemporary problems and issues need to be addressed with creative solutions. Communication Studies scholars and practitioners are well-positioned to offer theoretical and practical insights to address contemporary problems. First Vice President’s Special Programming will focus on the communication surrounding contemporary problems and potential solutions in various areas including social justice, Artificial Intelligence, higher education enrollment, undergraduate and graduate program development, curriculum changes, current political climate, health disparities, and workplace communication issues, among other areas. I encourage submissions that interrogate the following:

  • How can Communication Studies scholarship, teaching, and practice provide creative solutions to contemporary societal, environmental, geopolitical, technological, and economic problems?
  • How can we best prepare undergraduate and graduate students to address these contemporary problems with creative solutions?
  • How can we extend Communication Studies scholarship, teaching, and practice to settings and situations outside our traditional contexts?

The 116th ECA convention will feature paper sessions, panel sessions, short courses, poster sessions, and roundtables. The 2025 convention will also feature the Basic Course Conference. This will be an exciting opportunity for all individuals who teach or direct the introductory communication courses at their respective institutions to engage with each other by sharing innovative basic course research, pedagogical strategies, and program initiatives.

I consider it an incredible honor to serve you and our incredible Association as the 2025 Primary Convention Planner. I am very excited to work with Interest Group Planners and my convention planning team to plan a wonderful ECA 2025. I certainly hope you will join us for a wonderful convention in Buffalo!

Jordan Atkinson, Ph.D.
University of Kansas
atkinson@ku.edu

Convention Acceptance Notifications: January 2025


Undergraduate Scholars Conference

Call for Competitive Graduate Posters

Short Courses



2025 Interest Group Planners

American Society for the History of Rhetoric (ASHR) (Affiliate Organization)
David Hoffman
Baruch College - CUNY
david.hoffman@baruch.cuny.edu

Interpersonal Communication
Elizabeth Glowacki
Northeastern University
e.glowacki@northeastern.edu
Applied Communication
Yiyi Yang
Univerity of North Carolina Wilmington
yangy@uncw.edu
Interpretation and Performance
Evan Schares
Villanova University
evan.schares@villanova.edu
Argumentation & Forensics
Tim Michaels
Penn State University
timmichaels95@gmail.com

Kenneth Burke
Cem Zeytinoglu
East Stroudsburg University
czeytinoglu@esu.edu
Communication Administration
Andrew Herman
SUNY Geneseo
hermana@geneseo.edu

Media Communication
Tanya Powers
Marist University
tanyamaco@gmail.com
Communication Law & Ethics
Noura Hajjaj
SUNY New Paltz
nourahajjaj80@gmail.com
Media Ecology (Affiliate Organization)
Robert Foschia
Penn State York
ruf280@psu.edu
Communication and Technology
Brian R. Patterson
West Virginia University
bpatters@mail.wvu.edu


Nonverbal Communication
Madison Neurohr
University at Buffalo
mneurohr@buffalo.edu
Communication Traits
Lynda McCroskey
California State University, Long Beach
lynda.mccroskey@csulb.edu
Organizational Communication
Stratton Casey
Salisbury Univerity
cmstratton@salisbury.edu
Community College
Jenny Warren
Collin College
jwarren@collin.edu
Philosophy of Communication
Inci Sayrak
Duquesne University
sayraki@duq.edu
GIFTS
Jenny Warren
Collin County Community College
Jwarren@collin.edu


Political Communication
Robert Stise
University of Delaware
rstise@udel.edu
Health Communication
Yadong Ji
Western Washington University
jiy@wwu.edu

Rhetoric and Public Address
Tim Barney
University of Richmond
tbarney@richmond.edu

Institute of General Semantics (Affiliate Organization)
Thom Gencarelli
Manhattan College
thom.gencarelli@manhattan.edu

Theory and Methodology
Doran Tucker
George Mason University
dtucker8@gmu.edu
Instructional Communication
Cathlin Clark-Gordon
Seton Hill University
cclarkgordon@setonhill.edu

Voices of Diversity
Dan Strasser
Rowan University
strasser@rowan.edu
Intercultural Communication
Noura Hajjaj
SUNY New Paltz
nourahajjaj80@gmail.com
 

ECA 2025 CONVENTION PLANNERS CONTACT INFORMATION

Thank you to the individuals listed here for their service to ECA and to our discipline.

First Vice President & Primary Convention Planner
Jordan Atkinson, Ph.D.
University of Kansas
atkinson@ku.edu
                                  

Second Vice President

Tammy Bulger
UNCW
bulgert@uncw.edu
Second Vice President

Dawn Pfeifer Reitz
Penn State Berks
Dpr15@psu.edu
Second Vice President
(Local Arrangements)

Celeste C. Wells
Boston College
Celeste.wells@bc.edulbell@stevenson.edu
Short Course Director

Christina L. McDowell
Cornell University
Clm354@cornell.edu
Director of Sponsorship

Angie Corbo
Widener University
amcorbo@widener.edu
Connect ConferenceJessica Papajcik
Stark State College
jpapajcik@starkstate.edu
James C. McCroskey & Virginia P. Richmond Undergraduate Scholars Conference

Kati Sudnick
UNCW
sudnickk@uncw.edu
and
Basak Guven
Duquesne University
guvenb@duq.edu
Graduate Poster Session

William Burgess
Gallaudet University
william.burgess@gallaudet.edu
Social Media Director

Colin Kearney
Christopher Newport University
colin.kearney@cnu.edu