Philosophy of Communication Interest Group Business Meeting Friday April 27, 2007

Participants	Institutions	e-mail	Willing to be	<u>paper reviewer</u>
1. Janie Harden Fritz	Duquesne University	<u>harden@duq.edu</u>	C	yes
2. Pat Arneson	Duquesne University	arneson@duq.edu	_	no (v-chair)
3. Cem Zeytinoglu	East Stroudsburg	czeytinoglu@po-box.e	esu.edu	yes
4. Ronald C. Arnett	Duquesne University	arnett@duq.edu	_	yes
5. Annette Holba	Plymouth State Unive	ersity <u>aholba@plymo</u>	outh.edu	yes
6. Jeanne Persuit	Duquesne University	persuitj@duq.edu	_	yes
7. Elvera Berry	Roberts Wesleyan	<u>berrye@roberts.edu</u>	_	maybe
8. James Pickett	Flagler	jpickett1@flagler.edu	_	yes
9. Erik Garrett	Duquesne University	garrette@duq.edu	_	maybe
10. Leeanne M. Bell	Duquesne University	leeannebell@hotmail.	<u>com</u>	maybe
11. Randy Cole	Duquesne University	<u>coler@duq.edu</u>	_	no
12. Christina McDowell Duquesne University <u>mcdowel338@duq.edu</u>			_no	
13. Kathleen Glenister RobertsDuquesne University robertskg@duq.edu				yes

Ronald C. Arnett opened the meeting

1. Minutes from previous meeting, April 28, 2006 are posted on ECA website (www.ecasite.org) Moved to approve the minutes (**Arneson**) Seconded by **Roberts**

Motion carried to approve minutes.

- 2. President's report:
- Membership 44
- 5 programs for this convention
 - \circ 2 panels
 - 9 competitive papers
- Announced Short Course: Teaching Philosophy of Communication (14 registrants)
- Thanked reviewers **Jim Pickett** and **Al Mueller**
- Due to illness of previous secretary, **Holba** to step in and serve 2007 & 2008 as interest group secretary
- Old Business
 - Continued discussion on looking for a venue for journal publication for PhilComm

Turned meeting over to New President for 2007 – **Janie Harden Fritz**

- 3. New Business
 - 2008 convention conference theme is "Making a Difference"
 - Deadline for submissions is October 15, 2007
 - Nominees for new VP of PhilComm Interest Group (will plan 2010 convention program)
 - Nominated **Cem Zeytinoglu** by **Holba** and seconded by **Arneson** all in favor.
- Arnett will serve as immediate past president to the ECA Nominating Committee
- Jim Pickett moved to close meeting seconded by Holba. Meeting adjourned.