Call for Papers

107th Annual ECA Convention

Baltimore, Maryland
March 30 - April 3, 2016

Submission deadline: October 15, 2015

Although Baltimore, MD, is not known for events during the Revolutionary War, the city was critical to the success of the 13 Colonies’ freedom. After Philadelphia was taken by the British, Baltimore became the temporary capital of the 13 Colonies from December 1776 to February 1777. During this time period, the Second Continental Congress (or the John Hancock Congress) unanimously voted to print authentic copies of the Declaration of Independence with all of the original signers names attached to the document. Mary Katherine Goddard, a Baltimore Postmaster, printer, and publisher, typeset and created the first printed versions of the document, which were then sent to each of the 13 Colonies so everyone could see who had. Of course, Baltimore is more famous for a different battle during the War of 1812. Prior to the Battle of Baltimore, Maj. George Armistead asked for a flag so big that the British would have no trouble seeing it fly above Ft. McHenry. While attempting to negotiate the release of a local physician, Francis Scott Key was held captive off the coast during the Battle of Fort McHenry. When he woke the next morning, he could see that “the flag was still there.” At this sight, he was uniquely inspired to write the beginnings of what would become the U.S. National Anthem. Although the Revolutionary war helped spur on the creation of the United States of America, the War of 1812 was equally important in how the U.S. evolved in its sense of national pride and unity.

Following in the spirit of these [r]evolutionary events, I invite our collaborative consideration about [R]evolution in the communication discipline. Are the field, our scholarship, and our teaching best served by a series of slow, incremental changes, or is it time to promote radical, pervasive overthrow of the status quo?

Short Course Submission Template

Panel Submission Template

See the below list of Interest Group and Affiliate Organization Planners, Special Session Directors, and Associate Organization contacts for the 2016 Convention. Please include the update Statement of Professional Responsibility on all submissions:

In submitting the attached paper or proposal, I/We recognize that this submission is considered a professional responsibility. If this submission is accepted and programmed, I/We agree to register for the 2016 ECA Convention, pay fees, and present in Philadelphia. I/We understand that presenters with last minute emergencies must make arrangements as possible for an alternate presenter as well as communicate their absences to both the Interest Group Planner and ECA VP; no shows will be removed from the official program.

To have time to confirm programming into the 2016 convention, notification of acceptance will not be given until the review process and initial session programming is drafted. (We do not wish to rank acceptances by sending out select notifications and having others wait.) Please expect to hear back about proposal acceptances no sooner than the traditional time of:

NOTE: A single paper or panel should only be submitted to a single interest group or affiliate organization for consideration.

Convention Acceptance Notifications: Friday, January 15, 2016

Thank you to the individuals listed here for their service to ECA and to our discipline.


First Vice President & Primary Convention Planner

Jason S. Wrench
SUNY New Paltz
(845) 257-3499

Second Vice President (Local Arrangements)        

Leeanne M. Bell McManus
Stevenson University

Second Vice President

Katherine Thweatt
SUNY New Paltz
Director of Sponsorship
Nicole Blau
Ohio University
Graduate Student Poster Session Chair
Dante E. Morelli
Suffolk County Community College
Short Course Director
Susan M. Ward
Delaware County Community College
Technology Coordinator
Kristin Roeschenthale Wolfe
Edinboro University
James C. McCroskey & Virginia P. Richmond Undergraduate Scholars Conference
Kristen Campbell Eichhorn
SUNY Oswego

Volunteer Coordinator
Chip Rouse
Stevenson University


Local Outreach Coordinator
Rod Carveth
Morgan University



ECA 2016 Interest Group Planners

American Society for the History of Rhetoric (ASHR) (Affiliate Organization)
Michelle Gibbons
State University of New York at Delhi

Applied Communication
Stacy Smulowitz

Argumentation and Forensics
Thomas McCloskey
University of Maryland

Communication Administration
Sally Vogl-Bauer
Blackhawk Technical College

Communication Law & Ethics
Jason Zenor
SUNY Oswego

Communication and Technology
Gamze Yilmaz
University of Massachusetts Boston

Communication Traits
Rachel DiCioccio
University of Rhode Island

Community College
Jenny Warren
Collin College

GIFTS (Great Ideas for Teaching)
Cheryl Wilson
Harrisburg Area Community College

Health Communication
Sara LaBelle
Chapman University

Institute of General Semantics (Affiliate Organization)
Lance Strate
Fordham University

Instructional Communication
Jennifer Waldeck
Chapman University

Intercultural Communication
Ali E. Erol
American University

Interpersonal Communication
Mary C. Toale
SUNY Oswego

Interpretation and Performance Studies
Lisa Weckerle
Kutztown University

Kenneth Burke
Jean Miller
George Washington University

Media Communication
Rod Carveth
Morgan State University

Media Ecology (Affiliate Organization) 
James C. Morrison
Boston College

Nonverbal Communication
Zac Goldman
West Virginia University

Organizational Communication
Michael Sollitto
Texas A&M Corpus Christi

Philosophy of Communication
Joel S. Ward
Geneva College

Political Communication
Theodore F. Sheckels
Randolph–Macon College

Rhetoric and Public Address
Michael Warren Tumolo
California State University at Stanislaus

Theory and Methodology
Annette M. Holba
Plymouth State University

Voices of Diversity
Daniel S. Strasser
Rowan University