Convention

Call for Papers

105th Annual ECA Convention

Communities of Dissent: A “Lively Experiment” in
Dialogue, Diversity, and Discourse

Providence, Rhode Island

The Omni Providence

April 23-27, 2014

Submission Deadline: October 15, 2013


Founded as a haven for religious dissenters, Providence is a city intimately shaped by discourses of disagreement. This year’s conference theme, “Communities of Dissent,” is inspired by the tradition of dissent that has marked the city’s long and notable history. Dissent can be transformational, a lively experiment in tolerance and freedom of conscience.  When accepted and encouraged, dissent can be an important monitoring force, providing correctives for unethical behavior, unfavorable decision-making, and insensitivity to others’ needs. Dissent can also be dangerous, undermining sound and orderly government, and fueling conflict and aggression.

This year’s theme explores the expression and suppression of dissent across communication contexts—relational, organizational, mediated, social, and political—and the attendant implications for such concerns as relational quality, community identification, civic engagement, public dialogue, accountability, and justice.

The convention, as always, features panels, round tables, short courses, and programming on the convention theme. In addition, the Fourth Annual James C. McCroskey and Virginia P. Richmond Undergraduate Scholars Conference (USC) will run concurrently with the ECA convention on Friday and Saturday (April 25-26). USC papers will be accepted through December 20, 2013, to enable scholarly student papers from the fall semester to be submitted.

Planners for the convention at large and for specific interest group programming appear below. Co-sponsorship of panels between interest groups is especially encouraged, given the theme’s embrace of a “lively experiment.” Proposals that relate to the convention theme but do not directly relate to one of the interest group areas should be sent directly to Thomas R. Flynn, Primary Program Planner and ECA First Vice-President at ECA2014@sru.edu.

Come and be part of our “Lively Experiment”.


ECA 2014 Convention Planners
Contact Information

Primary Program Planner
Thomas R. Flynn
First Vice President 
Slippery Rock University
(724) 738-2559
ECA2014@sru.edu

 

Second Vice President        
Chris R. Morse
Bryant University  
Cmorse2@bryant.edu               

Associate Convention Planners
Cheryl A. Casey
Hamilton College
ccasey@hamilton.edu

Lewis Freeman
Fordham University
LeFreeman@fordham.edu

Valerie Swarts
Slippery Rock University
valerie.swarts@sru.edu

Director of Marketing Associate Convention Planner
Annette Holba
Plymouth State University
aholba@mail.plymouth.edu 

James C. McCroskey and Virginia P. Richmond Undergraduate Scholars Conference - Call for Submissions
Leeanne Bell McManus
Stevenson University
ECAundergrad@gmail.com

Graduate Poster Sessions
Jaietta Jackson
Youngstown State University
Jai728@att.net

Short Courses Coordinator
Kristen L. Majocha
University of Pittsburgh at Johnstown
klynn@pitt.edu


ECA 2014 Interest Group Planners

ASHR
Michele Kennerly
Penn State University
kennerly@psu.edu

Applied Communication
Todd Kelshaw
Montclair State University
todd.kelshaw@montclair.edu

Argumentation and Forensics
Carl Hyden
Morgan State University
Carl.hyden@morgan.edu

Communication Administration
Timothy P. Mottet
Texas State University – San Marcos
tm15@txstate.edu

Communication and Technology
David Westerman
North Dakota State University
dkwNF2008@gmail.com

Communication Law and Ethics
D.L. Stephenson
Western Connecticut State University
stephensond@wcsu.edu

Communication Traits
Jerry L. Allen
University of New Haven
jlallen@newhaven.edu

Community College
Laura K. Davis
Harrisburg Area Community College
lkdavis@hacc.edu
          &
Rebecca M. Townsend
Manchester Community College
RTownsend@mcc.commnet.edu
(2014 GIFTS Planner)

Health Communication
Virginia McDermott
High Point University
vmcdermo@highpoint.edu

Instructional Communication
Daniel Mansson
Penn State Hazleton
dhm14@psu.edu                                                                                                                      

Intercultural Communication
Nicole Files-Thompson, Ph.D.
The Lincoln University of Pennsylvania
interculturaleca@gmail.com

Interpersonal Communication
Megan Dowd
Hamilton College
interpersonal.eca@gmail.com

Interpretation and Performance Studies
Andrée E. C. Betancourt
Northern Virginia Community College
ABetancourt@nvcc.edu
                  &
Cem Zeytinoglu
East Stroudsburg University of Pennsylvania
czeytinoglu@esu.edu

Kenneth Burke
Erik Garrett
Duquesne University
garrette@duq.edu

Lambda Pi Eta & PRSSA
Katrina J. Quinn
Slippery Rock University
katrina.quinn@sru.edu

Media Communication
James M. Durbin
University of Akron
Jmd16@uakron.edu

Media Ecology Association
James Morrison
Boston College
james.morrison@bc.edu

Nonverbal Communication
Christopher J. Claus
Towson University
cclaus@mix.wvu.edu

Organizational Communication
Jason Wrench
SUNY New Paltz
wrenchj@newpaltz.edu

Philosophy of Communication
Kristen L. Majocha
University of Pittsburgh at Johnstown
klynn@pitt.edu   

Political Communication
Janis L. Edwards
University of Alabama
janis.edwards@ua.edu 

Rhetoric & Public Address 
Heather Stassen-Ferrara   
Cazenovia College         
hmferrara@cazenovia.edu  
              &
Valerie Lynn Schrader
Penn State Schuylkill
vls146@psu.edu

Theory and Methodology
Jen Eden
Marist College
Jen.Eden@Marist.edu

Voices of Diversity
Chizoba Udeorji
Kingsborough Community College
Chizoba06@aim.com