Convention

Call for Papers

106th Annual ECA Convention

2015 CALL FOR PAPERS
Deliberation: Philadelphia
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
April 22-26, 2015

In 2015, we will gather in Philadelphia to deliberate on research, teaching ideas, and investigations into communication. We encourage you to engage with us in all levels of the convention, including through the submission of your research papers or creative panel program.

Convention Submission Deadline: Wednesday, October 15, 2014

Be creative for Philadelphia! Proposals may take the form of a completed paper or audience-involving panel programs such as roundtables, workshops, debates, symposiums, community programs – or any other creative sessions. Keep in mind that while we will honor the theme of “deliberation” in our overall programming, your paper or proposal can create a space for deliberation without necessarily putting the word in the program title. To help with your submission, we offer these templates (these are to help with your formatting but please contact your Interest Group Planner to determine any specific requirements from individual groups)

Short Course Submission Template

Panel Submission Template

See the below list of Interest Group and Affiliate Organization Planners, Special Session Directors, and Associate Organization contacts for the 2015 Convention. Please include the update Statement of Professional Responsibility on all submissions:

In submitting the attached paper or proposal, I/We recognize that this submission is considered a professional responsibility. If this submission is accepted and programmed, I/We agree to register for the 2015 ECA Convention, pay fees, and present in Philadelphia. I/We understand that presenters with last minute emergencies must make arrangements as possible for an alternate presenter as well as communicate their absences to both the Interest Group Planner and ECA VP; no shows will be removed from the official program.

We strongly encourage co-sponsorship of panels between Interest Groups in Philadelphia. If you believe that your proposal would serve the needs of more than one Interest Group or the general membership, submit (no later than the October 15, 2014 deadline) to the Primary Convention Planner (J. Kanan Sawyer: ecaphilly2015@gmail.com) as well as Interest Group Chairs for all potentially involved groups. As with paper and traditional panels, all co-sponsored panel submissions must go through peer-review and receive Interest Group and/or Primary Planner acceptance.

To have time to confirm programming into the 2015 convention, notification of acceptance will not be given until the review process and initial session programming is drafted. (We do not wish to rank acceptances by sending out select notifications and having others wait.) Please expect to hear back about proposal acceptances no sooner than the traditional time of:

Convention Acceptance Notifications: Friday, January 16, 2015


ECA 2015 CONVENTION PLANNERS
CONTACT INFORMATION
Thank you to the individuals listed here for their service to ECA and to our discipline.

 

First Vice President & Primary Convention Planner
J. Kanan Sawyer
West Chester University
ecaPhilly2015@gmail.com 

Co-Second Vice President        
Hans Schmidt
Penn State University
hcs10@psu.edu

Co-Second Vice President   
Brent Sleasman
Gannon University
sleasman001@gannon.edu
Marketing Director
Andrew Spieldenner
Hostra University
Andrew.Spieldenner@hofstra.edu
Graduate Poster Sessions Chair
Leeanne Bell
Stevenson University
leeannebell@hotmail.com
James C. McCroskey & Virginia P. Richmond Undergraduate Scholars Conf. Co-Chair
Kristin English
Georgia College
ECAundergrad2015@gmail.com
James C. McCroskey & Virginia P. Richmond Undergraduate Scholars Conf. Co-Chair
Scott Dunn
Radford University
ECAundergrad2015@gmail.com
Basic Course Co-Chair
Tracy Holden
University of Delaware
BCC2015.ECAPhilly@gmail.com
Short Course Co-Director
Jason Edwards
Bridgewater State University
ecashortcourse@aol.com
Short Course C-Director
Pamela Marshall
Rowan University
ecashortcourse@aol.com
Media Access Off-Site Coordinator
Meghan Mahoney
West Chester University
MMahoney@wcupa.edu
Sunday Programming
Angie Corbo
Weidner University
amcorbo@widener.edu
 

 


ECA 2015 Interest Group Planners

American Society for the History of Rhetoric (ASHR) (Affiliate Organization)
Michelle Gibbons
State University of New York at Delhi
gibbonmm@delhi.edu

Applied Communication
Annette Madlock Gatison
Southern Connecticut State University
madlocka1@southernct.edu

Argumentation and Forensics
Jade Olson
University of Maryland
jade.olson@gmail.com

Communication Administration
Janie Harden Fritz
Duquesne University
harden@duq.edu

Communication Law & Ethics
Jason Zenor
SUNY Oswego
jason.zenor@oswego.edu

Communication and Technology
Kristin Roeschenthaler Wolfe
Pennsylvania State University, Beaver
kristinwolfe@gmail.com

Communication Traits
James A. Katt
University of Central Florida
James.Katt@UCF.edu

Community College
Rebecca Townsend
Manchester Community College
RTownsend@mcc.commnet.edu

GIFTS (Great Ideas for Teaching)
Jenny Warren
Collins College
jwarren@collin.edu

Health Communication
Heather Stassen-Ferrara
Cazenovia College
hmferrara@cazenovia.edu

Institute of General Semantics (Affiliate Organization)
Corey Anton
Grand Valley State University
anton@gvsu.edu

Instructional Communication
Kerry Byrnes
Collin College, Spring Creek Campus
kbyrnes@collin.edu

Intercultural Communication
Yea-Wen Chen
Ohio University
cheny3@ohio.edu

Interpersonal Communication
Pamela J. Lannutti
La Salle University
interpersonal.eca@gmail.com

Interpretation and Performance Studies
Jennifer Shamrock
Monmouth University
jshamroc@monmouth.edu

Kenneth Burke
Jean Miller
George Washington University
jcmiller@gwu.edu

Lambda Pi Eta (Affiliate Organization) 
Andrew Jared Critchfield
The George Washington University
ajc@gwu.edu

Media Communication
Nicholas Scott Smith
Wayne State University
Nicholas.scott.smith@wayne.edu

Media Ecology (Affiliate Organization) 
James C. Morrison
Boston College
james.morrison@bc.edu

Nonverbal Communication
Zac D. Johnson
Murray State University
Zjohnson7@murraystate.edu

Organizational Communication
Cristina González Alcalá
University of Akron
cg39@zips.uakron.edu

Philosophy of Communication
Craig T. Maier
Duquesne University
maier551@duq.edu

Political Communication
Tracey Quigley Holden
University of Delaware
tqholden@udel.edu

Rhetoric and Public Address
Timothy Barney
University of Richmond
tbarney@richmond.edu

Theory and Methodology
Megan Dowd
Hamilton University
mdowd@hamilton.edu

Voices of Diversity
Truman R. Keys
Western Connecticut State University
keyst@wcsu.edu