108th Annual ECA Convention

Freedom To …

and Freedom From …

Boston, Massachusetts

March 29 - April 2, 2017

Begin the conversation about your research, trip, or experience on
ECA’s Facebook and Twitter!

Call for Papers

Submission deadline: October 15, 2016

No city in the United States is associated more with the tensions inherent in the concept of <freedom> than Boston, the site of our 2017 convention. Although the “Freedom Trail” that passes only twenty feet from the door of our convention hotel tells a story that Boston – and the United States – seeks simple <freedom>, its two endpoints show that <freedom> is no simple thing. The Massachusetts State House on the southern end negotiates daily the tension between governmental regulation and individual liberties. The USS Constitution on the northern end embodies the nation’s history desire for freedom from foreign aggression through its freedom to use military force. The Boston Common was used as a grazing ground, where there was freedom from livestock fees, but also freedom to enact the tragedy of the commons. Boston was home to the first Liberty Tree, an elm near Boston Common that was a site where everyday people sought freedom from the Stamp Act in 1765 and where British soldiers enacted their freedom to make this tree an object of ridicule and a site of punishment. Samuel Adams preached revolutionary freedom from British taxes, even while his cousin John Adams argued that even British soldiers have the freedom to demand a fair trial. Boston’s Justice William Cushing ruled in 1781, that “all men are born free and equal” to demand that Bostonians of African descent be released from slavery, even as slaveholders and legislators sustained laws that that allowed the freedom to hold slaves until the end of the Civil War. Throughout the Civil War, the first Red Scare of the 1920s, the busing and desegregation struggles of the 1970s and 80s, and to today in dozens of other examples, Boston has been a place where <freedom> has been a contested ground.

Our presence in Boston invites us to consider how the tensions in <freedom> are also present in our discipline. What does communication give us the <freedom> to do? What does it give us <freedom> from? What are the uses and abuses of free communication? When have others used their freedom to communicate to prevent freedom from other forces? And, when have we used the freedom to communicate to gain freedom from these forces? These are the kinds of questions I want our papers, panels, short courses, and other activities to explore.

See the list of Interest Group and Affiliate Organization Planners, Special Session Directors, and Associate Organization contacts for the 2017 Convention. If there are special considerations for your interest group, you will find them there.

Please include the update Statement of Professional Responsibility on all submissions:

In submitting the attached paper or proposal, I/We recognize that this submission is considered a professional responsibility. If this submission is accepted and programmed, I/We agree to register for the 2017 ECA Convention, pay fees, and present in Philadelphia. I/We understand that presenters with last minute emergencies must make arrangements as possible for an alternate presenter as well as communicate their absences to both the Interest Group Planner and ECA VP; no shows will be removed from the official program.

To have time to confirm programming into the 2017 convention, notification of acceptance will not be given until the review process and initial session programming is drafted. (We do not wish to rank acceptances by sending out select notifications and having others wait.) Please expect to hear back about proposal acceptances no sooner than the traditional time of:

NOTE: A single paper or panel should only be submitted to a single interest group or affiliate organization for consideration.

Convention Acceptance Notifications: January 15, 2017

Thank you to the individuals listed here for their service to ECA and to our discipline.

First Vice President & Primary Convention Planner

Benjamin Bates
Ohio University
(740) 593-9163

Second Vice President (Local Arrangements)
Jason Edwards
Bridgewater State University

Second Vice President
(Volunteer Coordinator)
Angela Cooke-Jackson, Emerson College, angela_cooke_jackson@emerson.edu

Director of Sponsorship
Nicole Blau
Ohio University

Graduate Poster Session Chairs
Heather Ferrara, Cazenovia College, hmferrara@cazenovia.edu

Valerie Lynn Schrader, Penn State-Schuylkill, vls146@psu.edu

Short Course Directors
Dante Morelli
Suffolk County Community College

Steven Granelli
Ohio University

Technology Coordinator
L. Meghan Mahoney
West Chester University of Pennsylvania

James C. McCroskey & Virginia P. Richmond Undergraduate Scholars Conference
Mary Mino
Penn State-DuBois

Tom Donlan
Montgomery County Communication College tdonlan@mc3.edu

Basic Course Conference Planner

Angela Hosek,
Ohio University


ECA 2017 Interest Group Planners

American Society for the History of Rhetoric (ASHR) (Affiliate Organization)
Michelle Gibbons
State University of New York at Delhi

Applied Communication
Stacy Smulowitz
University of Scranton

Argumentation and Forensics
Sean Luechtefeld
University of Maryland

Communication Administration
Mary Mino
Penn State-DuBois

Communication Law & Ethics
Martin Wallenstein
CUNY-John Jay

Communication and Technology
Malwina Buldys
Temple University

Communication Traits
Yang Lin
University of Akron

Community College
Cheryl Wilson
Harrisburg Area CC

GIFTS (Great Ideas for Teaching)
Kerry Byrnes-Loinette
Collin College

Health Communication
Rukhsana Ahmed
University of Ottawa

Institute of General Semantics (Affiliate Organization)
Lance Strate
Fordham University

Instructional Communication
Katherine Thweatt
SUNY Oswego

Intercultural Communication
Dorreen Jowi
Bloomsburg University

Interpersonal Communication
Marianne Dainton
LaSalle University

Interpretation and Performance Studies
Lisa Weckerle
Kutztown University

Kenneth Burke
Brian Gilchrist
Mount St. Mary’s University

Media Communication
Guy Wade
Wayne State University

Media Ecology (Affiliate Organization) 
James C. Morrison
Boston College

Nonverbal Communication
Jordan Atkinson
West Virginia University

Organizational Communication
Gregory Cranmer
Clemson University

Philosophy of Communication
Amanda McKendree
University of Notre Dame

Political Communication
Scott Dunn
Radford University

Rhetoric and Public Address
Michael Stutz
Three Rivers CC

Theory and Methodology
Janie Harden Fritz
Duquesne University

Voices of Diversity
Elizabeth Whittington Cooper
Xavier University of Louisiana