ECA Interest Group Bylaws

Instructional Communication Interest Group

Article I—Name

The name of the organization shall be the Instructional Communication Interest Group (ICIG) of the Eastern Communication Association (ECA). ICIG operates under the constitution and bylaws of ECA and shall be bound by all applicable rules and decisions of that association.

Article II—Purpose

The purpose of the Instructional Communication Interest Group is to promote the research, teaching, and study of instructional communication, communication education, and educational development at all levels.

Article III—Membership

Membership in the ICIG shall be open to all members in good standing of the ECA who are interested in promoting the purpose of the group.

Article IV—Meetings

Section One: An annual business meeting shall be held in conjunction with the ECA convention. The First Vice President of ECA shall determine the time and place of the meeting.

Section Two: Those members present at the annual meeting shall constitute a quorum.

Article V—Officers

Section One: The officers of the interest group shall be the Immediate Past Chair, Chair, Vice Chair, and Secretary. These officers shall perform the duties prescribed by the interest group's bylaws.

Section Two: The Chair shall preside at the business meetings of the interest group and discharge the duties normally adhering to this position.

Section Three: The Immediate Past Chair becomes the ECA Nominating Committee representative.

Section Four: The Vice Chair shall plan the program for the interest group at the association's annual meeting, attend all meetings scheduled by the ECA Vice President for program planning, and discharge the duties normally adhering to this position. These duties include undertaking special assignments delegated by the Interest Group Chair and in coordination with the Executive Director of ECA.

Section Five: Officers shall be elected at the annual business meeting. The term of office shall be one year for the Chair and Vice Chair. Officers shall assume their offices during the business meeting at the convention following their election.

Section Six: The Secretary will hold office for two years. The Secretary is responsible for recording the annual business meeting minutes and distributing the previous year's minutes to the Instructional Communication Interest Group membership. The secretary shall assume office during the business meeting at the convention following their election.

Section Seven: Succession shall be automatic from Vice Chair to the Chair

Section Eight: Succession shall be automatic from the Chair to the Immediate Past Chair.

Article VI—The Executive Committee

Section One: The officers of the Instructional Communication Interest Group shall constitute an Executive Committee.

Section Two: The Executive Committee shall have general supervision of the affairs of the interest group between its annual meetings and perform such duties as are specified by these bylaws.

Article VII—Representative to the ECA Executive Council

Section One: The ICIG shall select a representative to the association's Executive Council in accord with the rotating membership in that body.

Section Two: An Executive Council member shall serve a two-year term in accordance with the ECA bylaws.

Section Three: An Executive Council member is responsible for attending all meetings of that body at the association's convention and at other prescribed times during the year when the ECA Executive Council convenes.

Section Four: The Executive Council member shall present timely reports to his or her interest group about the deliberations of the Executive Council and undertake any special tasks assigned by the association's officers.

Article VIII—Parliamentary Authority

American parliamentary practice as set forth in the most recent edition of *Robert's Rules of Order, Newly Revised* shall govern the conduct of the interest group and the procedures at its meetings.

Article IX—Amendment of the Bylaws

These bylaws may be amended at any meeting of the interest group by a majority vote of members present, provided a previous notice of at least thirty days has been given, or by a two-thirds vote without notice.

Adopted: Friday, April 29, 2005